This isn't something I've spoken much about. I'd like to at least post up this entry, though.

Dæmons are mental constructs given symbolic animal forms inspired by Philip Pullman's "His Dark Material" trilogy. They're the other half of one's mental dialogue. This is the definition I am using and will use throughout. There's other forms of this using the same name that take a more spiritual approach and that you can call on readers to divine your dæmon's form & name but this is not the case with me.

Carcosa has had many incarnations over the years since 2008 (way before we knew of sites such as "The Dæmon Page") before this point. This current point is one we both feel comfortable with. That's what matters. I'm currently projecting her as my personal form, an American crow, born out of a hearttype connection to the birds. I have admittedly not been consistent with dæmonism but I'm working at it and attempting to achieve a consistency.

Carcosa, as an individual, is quiet for the most part but she occasionally snarks about things I hear or observe. These are often things that I would never think to say myself. She has been making attempts at being more vocal and I think I still have some work to do on properly hearing her and paying attention when she does talk. Yeah, time apparently doesn't equal experience with such things.

We make use of two other "official" kinds of forms besides the aforementioned "personal form": the analytical form and the Pullman form. The analytical form is a form found through pulling human personality traits out of observable animal behavior. The Pullman form is a form making more use of symbolism as found in the books and cultural beliefs surrounding the nonhuman animals in question. This one seems more lenient . I'm not sure I believe in settling per se. I do believe in being stable when it comes to forms as I think personality can change a lot with time. I don't think personality is a static thing.

My analytical form is stable as Egyptian mongoose. My Pullman form is stable as black cat. In addition to my personal form, these are the forms I most often project Carcosa as. I also admittedly have some form possessiveness over my Pullman form. I'm working on it. We also have a Set/Sha beast form which is vaguely either personal or comforting. We're not going to sort that out. It's a form least taken, though.

I think this is all I have to say on the matter for now. I'll write more in the future on my experiences with this when I can articulate them.